Sydney Carton: Last Words

Dearest Charles, and lovely Lucie,

         By the time that you have started to read this, I will have departed from this earth to save one man who deserves another chance. As you know, Lucie, I promised that I would do anything for you, even if it meant losing my very life. Now I see that this is my chance to help you. I am going to keep my promise, you and your husband will be reunited, and the world will not miss Sydney Carton. I’m doing this for Lucie, the girl who always had my heart, and Charles, an honest and trustworthy man who surely deserves Lucie’s love. I knew this was the right thing to do as soon as I heard of Charles’ peril. Charles, I want you to take care of Lucie for as long as she lives, lord knows she deserves it. And Lucie, I wish that you would live your life for your children, your father, and those who love you. Tell my associate, Mr. Stryver, that I will miss him, and that I am sure he will be able to find another partner for his law business. Let your daughter, Lucie, also know that she is precious and will grow up to be a strong, beautiful lady. My last few years have been pleasant, but I wish that I could have seen Lucie and Little Lucie a few more times. I know that what I am about to do is risky, dangerous, and deadly for certain, and of course I am frightened to the center of my soul, but I feel like this is the right thing to do.

                                                                                                        Take care,

                                                                                                     Sydney Carton

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

